According to the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles, Florida residents are eligible for a driving permit at the age of 15. Residents must hold a permit for 12 months before getting a license. Drivers aged 16 in Florida may only drive between 11 p.m. to 6 a.m., if accompanied by an adult 21 years or older who has a valid license. Seventeen-year-old drivers are prohibited from driving between 1 a.m. to 5 a.m., unless accompanied by an adult 21 years or older with a license.
A 14-year-old was behind the wheel in a multi-vehicle crash Monday that killed her mother and 8-year-old sister, the Polk County Sheriff’s Office said. Deputies said Destiny Ensslin, of Fort Meade, was driving on U.S. 17 in Homeland – between Bartow and Fort Meade – when she turned into the path of a van. Both vehicles then hit another car.
The sheriff’s office said the teen’s sister, Delaney Ensslin, was in the back seat and died at the scene. Their 42-year-old mother, Dawn Ensslin, was pronounced dead at Bartow Regional Medical Center. The teen was airlifted to Lakeland Regional Medical Center in stable but critical condition. It was unclear why the teen was driving, deputies said.
When tragedies such as this one affect your family, please speak with an attorney as soon as possible. We are right here, for you. The Spinner Law Firm. 813-991-5099
Leave Your Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.