Florida law (Fla. Stat. 627.748) requires drivers for transportation network companies (e.g. Uber and Lyft) to carry personal automobile insurance coverage of at least $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person and $25,000 for property damage, while the driver is logged onto the digital network but NOT engaged in a prearranged ride. When the driver is engaged in a prearranged ride, those coverage limit requirements increase to at least $1 Million for death, bodily injury, and property damage. If the driver’s insurance has lapsed or the does not provide the required coverage, Florida law requires the insurance maintained by Uber, Lyft and other such transportation network companies, to provide the required coverage beginning with the first dollar of a claim. This coverage must not be dependent on the driver’s personal insurance denying a claim.
The level of required coverage applicable to your crash depends on whether the Uber or Lyft driver was on duty, off duty, waiting to pick up a fair, actually picking up the passenger, or transporting the passenger. It is important to be clear about when during this process the crash occurs to be sure you have the maximum amount of coverage available to you. Please contact Spinner Law Firm to help as we have experience in handling these types of claims.