Recovering Lost Wages After Your On-the-Job Accident
Workplace injuries are a lot more common than many would think and can even occur in the safest of office jobs. When these workplace injuries occur, they will often result in time off and lost wages, leaving many to contemplate their job security and their ability to keep up with their financial responsibilities and pay their bills. This can be an often-confusing process, and no matter what the specifics of your situation might be, it is important to make sure you are covered from a legal standpoint and acquire the services of a top-flight attorney like, Ruskin personal injury lawyer, Anissa K. Morris. Having a strong personal injury attorney on your side, can ensure you are fairly compensated for any of the wages you might have lost during this time period. This will also cover you in the event you lose your job or feel as if you are wrongfully terminated. To better help you to understand the entire process involving a workplace accident or a personal injury claim for lost wages and more, Ruskin personal injury lawyer, Anissa K. Morris, has provided us with these answers to common questions.
· How Long Before I can Claim Lost Wages?
Depending upon the circumstances of the situation, everybody’s personal injury claim for lost wages will be different. However, in order to qualify to recoup lost wages in the state of Florida, an individual must be out of work for at least 7 consecutive days. Anything below does not meet the needs for the minimum lost wage’s threshold.
· Are Lost Wages Through Worker’s Compensation Taxable?
This is an important question to ask, as it may alter the amount of damages Ruskin personal injury lawyer, Anissa Morris recommends you seek from your employer. In the state of Florida your lost wages are not subject to federal taxes and because Florida has no state income tax, those wages are not taxable at all.
· Are My Lost Wages Equivalent to Full Pay?
When you are injured at your office or worksite, you are entitled to 80% of your post-tax lost wages. This is done using a weekly pay system, the main benefit of using the amount of your weekly pay rate is that if your pay has fluctuated from week to week, the number is calculated by the average of the highest 39 weeks out of the last 52 weeks of pay on the job.
· What if I work Multiple Jobs?
Depending on the number of jobs you are working, all your wages are added together and a weekly number if calculated so Ruskin personal injury lawyer, Anissa Morris will help you recoup your wages from all of the jobs combined.
· Can I Recover for Pain & Suffering?
Generally, you cannot apply for pain & suffering according to Florida’s worker’s compensation laws. however, Ruskin personal injury lawyer, Anissa Morris can assist you in filing a separate suit depending on the circumstances of your situation.
For more information on worker’s compensation and all other matter of personal injury law, contact Anissa K. Morris, Esq. today.