Car accident law in Florida is governed by a combination of state laws and common law principles. The Trinity, FL personal attorneys at Spinner Law Firm are dedicated to educating Florida motorists on important laws and concepts that might affect their auto accident case. Here are some key points to know:
NO FAULT INSURANCE – Florida is a no-fault insurance state, which means that after a car crash, each driver’s own insurance company will typically cover their initial medical expenses, and a portion of their lost wages, regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
PERSONAL INJURY PROTECTION (PIP) – Florida Law requires drivers to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance, which provides coverage for medical expenses, lost wages, and other expense relate to a car crash, up to the statutory limit. PIP coverage is mandatory, and all drivers in Florida, including Starkey Ranch, and Trinity, must carry at least $10,000 in PIP coverage. Some drivers opt to carry additional Medical Payments coverage which can serve to supplement PIP.
COMPARATIVE NEGLIGENCE – Florida follows a comparative negligence system, which means that each driver’s degree of fault for causing the accident directly impacts their liability to the victims and is considered when determining compensation. If an injured driver is found to be partially at fault for a Starkey Ranch accident, their compensation may be reduced or adjusted accordingly.
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS – In Florida, there is a four (4) year statute of limitations for filing a personal injury lawsuit following a car crash. If you do not file your lawsuit within the allotted time, you may lose your right to seek compensation.
MINIMUM INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS – Florida requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. Florida does not require its drivers to carry any minimum amount of bodily injury liability coverage, so it is recommended that you protect yourself by purchasing Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM).
UNINSURED MOTORIST COVERAGE – Florida law does not require its drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage, but it is recommended as it provides additional protection in the event you are injured in a Trinity, FL crash with an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
DUTY TO REPORT – Florida drivers are required to report any car accident that results in injury, death, or property damage over $500 to law enforcement. Failure to do so can result in penalties and fines. If you are injured in a Starkey Ranch, or Trinity, FL motor vehicle crash, make sure you contact law enforcement. Call now: 813-991-5099. We are standing by 24/7 to help.